Let's go on with the show!

The Henry Awards are a celebration of Colorado’s theatre community across the state, and this year’s nominees do not disappoint. The Denver Center of Performing Arts (DCPA) leads all of the theatre companies with a total of 26 nominations!

Leading the musical category with a total of 11 nominations is DCPA’s Oklahoma! – including Outstanding Actor in a Musical, Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Musical, and Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Musical, among others. 

The DPCA has also been nominated for Outstanding Season, along with six other nominees, including Colorado Shakespeare Festival, Fine Arts Center Theatre Company at Colorado College, and Thunder River Theatre Company. DPCA also scored in the design categories, but they were placed with the higher budget design category to level the playing field and make things fair for the other smaller companies who also deserve recognition. Theatre companies who had a budget of one million for costume and design were The Arvada Center, Creede Repertory Theatre, Colorado Shakespeare Festival, Colorado Springs TheatreWorks, DCPA Theatre Company, Fine Arts Center Theatre Company, and Theatre Aspen.

Costume Designer Jeff Cone and Lighting Designer Diane Ferry Williams are among the individual nominees for the DCPA Theatre Company. Cone and Williams have both scored two nominations for their designs in Oklahoma! and Anna Karenina.

Winners will be announced on July 22 at the Lone Tree Arts Center.

The judges are made up of people from different parts of the theatre community in Colorado. Peer theatre artists, educators, as well as general theatre-lovers who apply to become judges, all make up the 100 judges statewide to decide who wins. However, this year is the first year to omit bloggers and journalists from the judge position in favor of having a fun and fair award ceremony.

The Colorado Theatre Guild presents this award show to unite and celebrate Colorado’s rich history and participation in theatre. The awards are named after the longtime local theatre producer Henry Lowenstein. Tickets for the July 22 event are available here. Tickets are $35 for members and $40 for non-members.

You can view the full list of nominations on DCPA's website

What are your predictions for the Henry Awards? Let us know in the comments.