Historic Savage Mill combines history with modern dining and entertainment.
Savage Mill was built in 1820 after four brothers borrowed money to build a textile mill. The land's location next to the Little Patuxent River allowed the mill to utilize the river for a 30-foot water wheel to power the machines. The mill operated from 1822 to 1947, weaving canvas used for sails, tents, cannon covers, and vehicle covers. In the early 1900s, the mill was responsible for creating the large painted backdrops used in early silent movies. After the mill closed in the 1940s, the entire building became home to a Christmas display village for three years. In 1974, it was listed on the National Register of Historic Places and was later developed into a center with shops, restaurants, art galleries and event space.
The shops at Savage Mill includes a variety of local specialty boutiques and art galleries. Shop for a wedding dress at Cherie Amour, pick up some delicious chocolate treats at Sweet Cascades Chocolatier or peruse the shelves at Books With a Past. The mill is also home to several art galleries with artists in residence.
Rams Head Tavern is one of the anchor restaurants in Savage Mill, serving up a menu of scratch favorites and a rotating list of draft beers. The tavern also hosts live entertainment and special events. The mill is home to causal restaurants like Bonaparte-Rustiq Bakery & Cafe, a bakery that produces fresh croissants, breads, and pastries, as well as Say Cheezz! Grille, the place to go for a tasty grilled sandwich. Savage Mill also hosts weddings and events at the Historic Savage Mill Manor and The Great Room.
Bollman Truss Railroad Bridge, courtesy of Christa Emmer
Bollman Truss Railroad Bridge
On the grounds of the mill sits the Bollman Truss Railroad Bridge, one of the oldest metal bridges in the U.S. Designed by Baltimore engineer Wendell Bollman, it was the first successful railroad bridge design and was replicated all over the country. Visitors can walk across the bridge, explore the walking paths around the mill, or launch a kayak on the Little Patuxent River. The area is also home to Terrapin Adventures zip line park.
Historic Savage Mill is located at 8600 Foundry St. in Savage, Maryland, and is open seven days a week from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.