New changes have been made.
Colorado’s "Move Over Law" has had some recent changes that all drivers in the state should be aware of.
The law started in 2005 and intended to help protect law enforcement when they are out on the roads. It requires drivers to move away one lane to the left when an officer is parked on the side of the road, in order to protect officers from cars traveling at high speeds. Not only does it apply to police officers, but it also includes all emergency vehicles, tow trucks, and first responders.
The change to the law now requires drivers, if they're unable to move over, to drop to a speed of 20 miles per hour below the posted speed limit when passing a parked police officer in an adjacent lane. For example, if the posted speed limit is 40 miles per hour or less, drivers need to slow to 25 miles per hour. Those caught and found guilty of violating the "Move Over Law" will be subject to an $87 ticket, at a minimum.
Move Over, Slow Down, Drop the Distraction and SAVE A LIFE!— Colorado State Patrol (@CSP_News) September 5, 2020
If you can't move over, you must slow down by 20 MPH if the speed limit is 45 MPH or more.
If the speed limit is 40 MPH or less, slow down to 25 MPH or less.
Together we all go home safe. pic.twitter.com/hp10g2gIbY
In Colorado, many drivers are unaware of the "Move Over Law" and do not slow down or move over when a police car or first responder is parked on the side of the road and needs to pass by. Read the full law and all of its sections here.
The change was voted on in the state legislature in 2019 after five state patrol officers were killed on the roads over the past five years. According to the United States Department of Transportation, in 2017, 47 officers lost their lives in traffic-related incidents; from 2007 to 2017, 39 percent of law enforcement officers killed in the line of duty were killed in a traffic-related incident.
These laws are effective in all 50 states, and all drivers on the road have a responsibility to abide by them.
Were you aware of the changes to the “Move Over Law" in Colorado? Leave a comment below.