Texas quarterback Sam Ehlinger, Clemson quarterback Trevor Lawrence quarterback and Notre Dame linebacker Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah have been named finalists for the Bobby Bowden Trophy.

The award will be presented on Jan. 15, 2021, during a ceremony at the University Center Club on the Florida State campus.

The Bobby Bowden Trophy recognizes the College Football Playoff player who epitomizes a student-athlete of faith. He must conduct himself as an exemplary model in the classroom, on the field, on the campus and in the community.

The award is named after former FSU head football coach Bobby Bowden, who coached the Seminoles for 34 years and led the program to two national titles. Bowden coached for 44 years overall and won 411 games.

Bowden, 91, who resides in Tallahassee, also often shares his message of faith and the role it has played throughout his life.

"It's probably more important today than it has ever been," Bowden said.

"I think we need more boys trying to preserve their character than going in just any direction. These three players are examples of that commitment."

While at FSU, Bowden guided the Seminoles to 14 straight top five finishes in the AP poll from 1987 to 2000. During the Seminoles run, they went 152-18-1 and captured national championships in 1993 and 1999. In 1999, FSU became the first and only team to go wire-to-wire as the No. 1 team in the AP poll.

With his invitation to the Music City Bowl in 2007, Bowden passed Tom Osborne to become the first coach in college football history to lead his team to 26 straight bowl games. He is the only coach to ever lead his team to 15 consecutive New Year’s Day bowl games (1991 - 2005) and is tied for the most appearances in BCS bowl games with six.

Bowden is the only coach in NCAA history to win 11 consecutive bowl games (1985 - 1995) and the only coach ever with 14 consecutive bowl appearances (1982 - 1995) without a loss.

The award was conceived by Vince Gibson, a former Bowden assistant at South Georgia State College who went on to become head coach at Kansas State, Louisville, and Tulane before he passed away in 2012 from ALS; and Vernon Brinson, one of Bowden’s former football players at South Georgia State College and the University of Georgia baseball team in the 1950s.

For more information or questions, contact Dr. Benny J. Jones at 504-495-2756 or Dr. [email protected] For more information about the award, view the website at TheBobbyBowdenAward.org.

Past Bowden Trophy winners

2020 nominees in alphabetical order.