Quarterback Shawn Moore and Defensive Back Anthony Poindexter, former University of Virginia players, are among 75 finalists for the College Football Hall of Fame.

Shawn Moore and Anthony Poindexter have been announced as two of the 75 finalists for the College Football Hall of Fame 2018 class.

The class will be announced on January 8, 2018, in Atlanta, Georgia. [gallery columns="2" size="large" ids="1745,1746"]     Moore finished fourth in the race for the Heisman Trophy in 1990, and in the same year, he led the University of Virginia to its first-ever No. 1 ranking. He was ACC Player of the Year (1990) and ACC Offensive Player of the Year (1989). Poindexter was a two-time First Team All-American -- three-time All-ACC pick (1998) and ACC Defensive Player of the Year (1998). He holds five school records and finished his college career with 342 tackles and 12 interceptions.
Moore and Poindexter are among a star-studded group of nominees, including Tony Gonzalez (California), Eric Crouch (Nebraska), Ray Lewis (Miami), Jake Plummer (Arizona), and many more. You can view the full list of finalists on the National Football Foundation's website or you can download this PDF. The National Football Foundation states in the PDF that,
During the 2018 season, members of the Hall of Fame class will participate in numerous activities to further celebrate their accomplishments. First, throughout the fall, each inductee will be honored on the field at his respective school with an NFF On-Campus Salute, presented by Fidelity Investments. The formal induction ceremony will follow on Dec. 4, 2018, during the 61st NFF Annual Awards Dinner at the New York Hilton Midtown. Later in December, the Class of Fame Salute during the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl and be officially recognized within the College Football Hall of Fame."
What do you think of the 75 finalists? Share your thoughts with us by commenting below.

Feeling like getting into shape this summer? There are 5 forms of alternative fitness that you should try, only in D.C. and northern Virginia!